Five days to Christmas

Christmas lights
This is unusual for me. It’s five days to Christmas and I’m already done with the shopping and wrapping!—well, I have one more to wrap and I’ll be really done. I’m so glad I’m not arriving at Christmas Day’s doorstep in a whirlwind of running to and fro the malls or staying up late surrounded by bows, Scotch tape, ribbons and gift wrapping paper. So what I’m going to do with these five days before Christmas? I’ll try to make them wonder-full. And I start with gratitude. Where I grew up, we didn’t have Thanksgiving so Christmas has always been the time of the year where I thank the Lord for all his blessings. From being able to wiggle my toes to having a job, to sharing a laugh with my mom, to full moons, I’m grateful for both the ordinary and the extraordinary in my days.

Another way to fill these five days with wonder is to just enjoy the sights and sounds that only come at this time of the year. I turn up the volume when “The First Noel” or “All I Want for Christmas Is You” or any Christmas song plays on the radio. Early in the morning, before heading for work, I take a few minutes to walk around and admire the downtown display of Christmas lights.

This is the time for giving. And no matter how big or small is the check I write to help buy a meal or groceries for somebody in need or to help my college aid future students, I feel that it is a blessing that I can help others.

These five days before Christmas will also be for touching bases with friends from school. My Christmas cards (I’m still for the ones made of paper and are tucked into envelopes) are already on the way to them. But most prefer plain emails so in a few days, the round of virtual greetings will start. I always look forward to those greetings. They come from the mainland, Canada, Peru. I always marvel at how in an instant they can reach my inbox, and at how some of them are from classmates I don’t hear about except at this one time of the year.

There’s something about Christmas that makes me feel more alive. I’m not sure why. Maybe it’s the intention to fill it with wonder or maybe it’s the fact that it’s Christmas that’s feeding into the intention. I don’t know, but I’ll soak up in that feeling. Hope you too have found your own special Christmas feeling. Merry Christmas!

This song by Henry Kapono is for all my school friends, near and far:

This entry was posted in Just a thought and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five days to Christmas

  1. HappyFamily says:

    Where did the time go? Merry Christmas

    -Cristy
    http://www.happyfamilyblog.com

Leave a Reply

