Giving thanks

It’s Black Friday but instead of joining the crowd of shoppers at the malls, I’m here at home, listening to the sweet dings of the wind chime hanging by my window while I write down my thoughts. Yesterday was Thanksgiving Day, but though I’m posting my thank-you list only now, they are the things I appreciate every day of the year.

I’m thankful…

For family. Yes, mom might drive me crazy at times (sometimes, many times), but she’s still part of my life. I have friends who have lost one or both their parents this year, and they all say the same: Enjoy your mother while she’s still here.

For friends. The ones whom I meet for lunch and the ones whom I meet online. Near or far, we’re for each other, ready to listen to our ups and downs.

For friends. The furry, feathery or scaly kind.

For good health. Birthdays are no longer the same. We all dread the New Year because it means we’re going to be one year older. To be able to walk, dance, do yoga, run a marathon, type, go to work, or wake up without pain may be things we take for granted but they’re all blessings. A healthy body is a fact we come to appreciate more and more as the years go by.

For having a roof over my head, food on my table and a warm bed to sleep in. Homeless people have become a more common sight in the past few years. They seem to be everywhere, business district, posh neighborhoods, working class neighborhoods, tourist district. They remind me how fortunate I’m to have a home to come back to.

For having to paint my characters into a corner and then having to figure out how to get them out of there. Isn’t using one’s imagination wonderful?

For amazing moments. Wherever or whenever we create them or just stumble upon them.

For challenges that help us grow and improve ourselves. They let us know we’re still a work in progress. We’re not done yet.

For you. For stopping by, for taking the time to read my posts, for your comments, and for your encouragement.

Thank you!

This entry was posted in Just a thought and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

