Humble pleasure

Image by Amaia Li

Delicious pan con chicharrón sandwich from La Lucha Restaurant in Lima, Peru


In response to the Daily Prompt – Pleasure

No food brings me more pleasure than bread. Nothing smells more delicious to me than bread, hot out of the oven. Sometimes when most people are extolling the beauty, texture, and taste of a cake, I’m going through the motion of nodding my head in agreement because I’m afraid that if they find out that I don’t quite share their enthusiasm, they are going to think I’m weird or that I’m an alien from another planet. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy eating cake and my share of pastries, but it’s bread that’s close to my heart. When I was a child growing up in Peru, my parents used to send me and my older siblings to buy bread in the mornings. Mom or Dad would give us some money, a bag, and out of the door we went to the bakery down on the corner. Often times, we would end up standing in line, waiting for the next batch of pan francés to come out of the oven. Pan francés translates into French bread but this is the Peruvian adaptation, and it’s the most popular bread consumed in Peru. And pan francés, golden and crisp, is absolutely heaven for me. The outside is crunchy but the inside is soft and light.

I don’t live anywhere near a bakery now, so anytime I happen to catch the aroma of freshly baked bread, I smile, thinking about the little girl who walked home, hugging a bag of warm bread to her chest. And I promise myself that the next time I visit my birth country, I’m going to eat as many >pan francés with chicharrón as I can.

This entry was posted in Just a thought and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

