Can’t Drive 55 – The Daily Post’s Writing Prompt

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Can’t Drive 55.”

These past weeks I’ve had one song going in circles in my mind, Christian Castro’s “Angel”. I don’t know why. It’s just one of those things that happen. One day I wake up with a song that I haven’t heard in ages, and it stays until one other day I realize it has left me. Just like that; it slips away. To find the third line of this song, however, I had to look it up on the Internet.

And it reads, Encontrarme en tus labios. That’s it. I find myself with your lips. What am I supposed to do with such a line?

I find myself with your lips
I’m aghast that that I’m holding them in the palms of my hands.
(I must be getting ready for Halloween!)

I find myself with your lips
And I try them on
How could you left them behind?
In the drawer, with the socks.
(I’m no songwriter)

I find myself with your lips
And I have one more minute to go.
Let me say I’m sorry for marring the lyrics with my silliness.

In reality the line runs like this:
Encontrarme en tus labios
En un beso sin final
or loosely translated in English:

(I’d like to) find myself with your lips
In an endless kiss.

Here’s a very young Christian Castro performing “Angel”

Quote | This entry was posted in Just a thought and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t Drive 55 – The Daily Post’s Writing Prompt

  1. The clock was ticking and I really didn’t know what else to do with it. Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

