If that cat could talk

I’m taking up the challenge of the Daily Prompt: Return Address

Yesterday, your pet/baby/inanimate object could read your post. Today, they can write back (thanks for the suggestion, lifelessons!). Write a post from their point of view (or just pick any non-verbal creature/object).

playful cat

image by Amaia Li

Hey, you. Yes, you with the camera. Stop taking pictures! What’s with you girl, playing paparazzi again and trying to catch me in the most undignified poses? I’m not your pet. Give me that camera. What would Blackie, Tom Ghost and Cow-Cat–oooh, I love that name. When I told him that you have nicknamed him Cow-Cat, he threw a hissy fit—-anyway, what are they going to think when they see that picture? You’re going to ruin my reputation as the Queen of this backyard. By the way, thank you for giving me the run of your backyard. I love it here. You opened the door to your house, but I’m an outdoor cat. I don’t need fancy beds and scratching posts when I can lie among the tall grass (a.k.a. your weeds) or atop of your wall and sharpen my claws with real trees. Though I admit curling on your welcome mat when the weather is not cooperating, but those occasions are rare. Lucky we live in Hawaii.

I’m sort of a gypsy. I move from one place to another when the itch for adventure gets me. But I like it here. This is why I’m always coming back. You girl keep luring me with daily meals and clean water. And that flat rock in the front yard makes for a perfect pedestal, very comfy place for sunning. You should take my picture when I’m lounging there. Don’t I look like the Sphinx? Oh, I forgot, I’m not an orange tabby. The other reason I like your backyard is that I can hunt. Remember the time I brought you a mouse? And the birds? Sorry if I made a mess at your front door after I plucked out all those feathers. I know you’d rather not see me eating geckos. And I don’t, I promise. I just leave the dead geckos on your welcome mat. It’s a cat thing.

You girl should stop trying to take cutesy pictures of me. I’m not going to make a fool of myself like all those YouTube cats, popping out of boxes and paper bags. And if you’re going to give me a name, couldn’t you find a proper one instead of the silly Kitty-cat, Miss Kitty, Kit-Kat or…Meercat! Do I look like a meerkat? And don’t call me The Cat. That’s too generic. I’m a smart, adventurous, playful, and thoughtful, yet still wild feline. How about you call me La Diosa, the Goddess? No? Okay, Miss Kitty would do for now.

This entry was posted in Just a thought and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If that cat could talk

  1. Marc-André says:

    Soooo cute love it! I have a weekly tummy rub Tuesday challenge you could take part in too 😉

  2. Wonderful idea and so many cute pictures! Thank you for the link. I entered Miss Kitty 😉

  3. Pingback: Happy #TRT – Tummy Rub Tuesday Latest photos + ongoing challenge! (Week 16) | Katzenworld

  4. Pingback: Happy #TRT – Tummy Rub Tuesday Latest photos + ongoing challenge! (Week 17) | Katzenworld

Leave a Reply

