NaNo my way

When I read all those announcements about the upcoming NaNoWriMo, I checked the official website and felt tempted to join in. But I didn’t—at least not officially. Forcing myself to write 50,000 words in 30 days is not like me. My muse dislikes adrenaline rushes and deadlines. I know people who would whip out wonders when working under pressure and with the clock ticking. Not me. True, at my pace, I won’t be making a living out of writing novels, but that’s how it works for me.

The advice is to write, write and write without editing. The goal is to get the story out of oneself and onto the paper. I try to do it too, but I’ve found out that I can’t just soldier on while ignoring my gut feelings that what I’m putting onto the paper is not working. I write as if I were assembling a puzzle. If the piece doesn’t fit, I have to stop and find out the correct one. Without it, I can’t go onto the next scene. Right now, I’ve spent the last 3 weekends working on a single scene for DB2 because my instincts tell me it’s not quite right. I may be stuck for now, but I think paying attention to and working over this scene now will probably save me from having to rewrite a whole chapter. It’s not unlike doing stitching or crocheting. Better undo one crooked stitch now than to redo the whole row later.

Kudos to all who are participating in NaNo. I envy you, in a way. But I’ll do my own loose version of Novel Writing Month by committing to writing my book every weekend of November (whereas before I would write when I got a chance), and if I get the troubled scene straightened out by the end of the month, then that would be my prize.

This entry was posted in Just a thought, My projects, Writing life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

