The danger of repetition

So it’s time to move on. It’s time to work on the follow-up to The Night of the Moon Serpent. Curiously, I’ve come to realize that in order to do so I have to put the first book behind, way behind. I have to wipe the slate of my mind clean of it. The other day, when I took a second look at the rough outline of the plot for the new book, I said to myself, “Girl, you’ve done this already. You are repeating yourself!” That outline is in the trash now. But it made me wonder how tempting it is—and sometimes, how we unconsciously fall into trying—to turn something into a template, or into a formula to follow over and over again, to make more of the same.

I’m glad I recognized the danger in time. Even though DB2 (working title for the new book) is a sequel, it should be a new take. I have to find a fresh angle and it looks like it may involve a different structure from the first one. I’m coming to terms with the fact that Miguel may not have a prominent role this time. All the shifting makes me nervous, but at the same time it’s exciting because that’s the challenge of writing. I respect the world I’ve created and must abide by its rules, yet I want something different. I want to take myself and the readers to new territory. Now that I have freed myself from the mental trap of repetition, I hope DB2 will be able not only to find its wings, but also to spread them wide.

This entry was posted in Just a thought, My projects, Writing life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The danger of repetition

  1. happy says:

    I got this web site from my friend who shared with me concening this
    website and now this time I am visiting thi web site
    and reading very informative articles or reviews
    at this time.

Leave a Reply

