New Dawn – The Daily Post

Ah, another assignment from The Daily Post. Here’s my take:

How often do you get to (or have to) be awake for sunrise? Tell us about what happened the last time you were up so early (or late…).

I’m a morning person. There’s nothing like your bowels waking you up with a “potty time, potty time!” urge. The sun is not up yet, but I can hear the birds chirping. A sure sign that the dawn in approaching. On weekdays, I’m up even earlier. I wake up not to my “natural” alarm, but to the beeps of my clock. It’s time to go to work.

As I make my way to the bus stop, I relish the cool night breeze still lingering at this hour. Later, by 8:00 a.m., it will be another hot, windless, and muggy summer day. But at 5:00 in the morning, it is still dark; the streetlights are still radiating their yellow lights and if I look up, there are constellations of stars over my head. If it is the right day of the month, a full moon will be greeting me first thing in the morning too. I make way to the early joggers as they pass me. Some shout a “good morning!” and others just leave me behind, without a word. They’re too tuned in to their iPods. By the time I’m crossing the shopping center’s parking lot, I have exchanged smiles and good mornings with the group of retirees who are already walking the perimeter of the shopping center for the second time.

Twelve minutes after I left home, I’m standing at my bus stop. I’m still surrounded by the night, but when I look to the east, there’s a cerulean sky creeping upwards from the rooftops. The bus arrives and we, the early riders, jump in. As soon as I settle in my seat, I lean my head against the window. My eyes close and it is not until a shift in gears—and my body conforms to a gentle turn as the bus leaves the freeway— that I wake up. We’re in town. It is daylight, and I’ve missed watching the sun rise once again.

This entry was posted in Just a thought and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

