Terminal Time – The Daily Prompt

You’re at the airport, your flight is delayed for six more hours, and none of your electronic devices is working. How do you pass the time?

Here’s how I spend Terminal Time:

I, like most people, don’t like to be stuck at the airport longer than I need to grab a bite, take a bathroom break, stretch my legs, pass security, and get to my next gate. But if I have a real long stay because of a delay or simply because my connecting flight is seven hours away, I usually make myself comfortable in a chair, pull a pen and a 5 ½” x 3 ½” notebook and start scribbling away. Wherever I go on an international trip, I carry my little travel journal.

Terminal time turns into found free time to write down what’s going on inside my head and what it feels and looks like to be where I’m at the moment. If I’m at the airport on my way home, you’ll usually find me writing in my little notebook, trying to catch up with the events that happened before I left the country I was visiting. I have to commit them to the page while the memories are still fresh. I love journal writing while traveling. There are photos, videos, and Facebook. But, in my humble opinion, keeping a trip journal is still the best. Otherwise, how would I, years later, remember little details like these?

12:25 p.m. Wed., July 18, 2012
Eating at the airport. Amazing. I spent $10+ for fried rice, chicken soup & a Coke. The people sitting at the table in front of me are grumbling about not getting a cup of ice. Well, it’s the airport. No free stuff.

13:39 Same day
I’ve been waiting in this airport for so long that I already have a favorite bathroom (stall). I really am a creature of habit. Even (when) the waiting room at gate 17 is still half empty, I always come back to the same seat.

This entry was posted in Just a thought, Writing life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

